Our Team


Dr Jennifer Dingman

Executive Director

Jennifer was born and raised in Calgary, AB but is proud to call New Brunswick home and has lived in Riverview for almost half her life. She holds an undergraduate degree in Environmental Biology from the University of New Brunswick and stayed on to complete a PhD investigating algal population cycling and marine microbial ecology. Jennifer has a strong scientific background and has a wide range of research and project management experience from sectors including municipal and federal government, NGOs and academia. She has a passion for community service and community development, science outreach and education. As the Executive Director, she is responsible for implementing the mandate of the UNESCO-designated Stonehammer Geopark and guiding the organization to meet its strategic objectives around conservation, sustainable development, and capacity building.

Catrina Russell

Education Coordinator & Geoscientist

Catrina studied Geology at the University of New Brunswick and Organizational Management at Crandall University. As a child, she was inspired to study Geology when she learned about all of the amazing things that rocks can tell us about the past. It’s like being able to travel through time and space without ever leaving your backyard! She has been engaged with Stonehammer since its inception and is extremely grateful for her role with the Geopark today. Nothing compares to the opportunity to educate and engage youth with all things geology and geoheritage on a daily basis! Catrina hopes that her knowledge and enthusiasm for what she teaches help to inspire the next generation to pursue their passions just as her incredible teachers and mentors inspired her.

Frances Heydeman

Geotourism Coordinator

Frances brings her extensive career in Travel Trade, National and International Tourism as well as corporate and community Event Planning to her role at Stonehammer. She loves the challenge of developing new and innovative marketing and sales development strategies specific to tourism and lends her expertise as an administrative logistics specialist and master project and budget coordinator. She is a member in good standing of the NB Travel Trade Community and currently sits on the Board for the Canadian Geopark Network where she serves as Chair of the Marketing & Communications Committee.

Board of Directors

Dr Don McAlpine – Chair

Matt Killick – Treasurer

Roxanne McKinnon – Secretary

Lea St John

Elleas Nicholas

Dr Roger Russell

Mike Carpenter